Documentation and Best Practices

Learn how to use Cloudability and get the most out of our cloud cost management tool.

Follow

Manage users

Administrators can add users, activate or deactivate users, export a list of users, and delete users. To access the Users page, go to the Settings (gear.png) menu, then click Access Administration. The Frontdoor Access Administration console appears with the Users tab selected by default. You can filter and sort the list of users, search all user records, and hide inactive users by employing the options at the top of the page.

NOTE: To add users to Cloudability or to set users' permissions within Cloudability, see Add and manage users

Add users

You can add a single user or bulk-add multiple users in the Frontdoor Access Administration console.

Add a single user

Add a user to an environment and assign that user to roles supported by the applications enabled in the environment. See Manage user access to environments. (For security reasons, this link requires TBM credentials).

  1. In the Settings (gear.png) menu, click Access Administration. The Frontdoor Access Administration console appears with the Users tab selected by default.
  2. Click Add User. Type the user information in the boxes provided. For Username and Email, use the format someone@domain.com. The email value does not need to match the user name value. Email is used for Apptio-generated emails (for example, a password reset).
  3. If available, select an Account Type.
  4. Clear the Active checkbox to deactivate a user. Deactivated users do not have access to environments until they are made active. See Activate or deactivate a user. (For security reasons, this link requires TBM credentials).
  5. Select the Do not send user activation email checkbox to prevent a user activation email from being sent to the user's Email address. Users created in a single sign-on (SSO)-enabled domain will not be sent emails regarding user activation.
  6. Click Add.
  7. If your organization has a single environment, click Next. If your organization has multiple environments, select the Customer and Environment from the lists provided, then click Grant Access to Created User.
  8. Optionally, select the roles to assign the user. See Manage user permissions and roles. Then, click Save. (For security reasons, this link requires TBM credentials).
  9. To assign the user to additional roles in another environment, click Continue Granting. To view the user's information, click View User.

Add multiple users at a time (bulk add users)

  1. Using a text editor or Excel, create a comma-separated value (.csv) file of the user's data you want to add. Use the following format:
    • A single user per row, comma-separated values for each user in this order: Username,Email,Full name (for example, bill@smith.com,bill@smith.com,Bill Smith).
  2. When all the users have been added to the file, select all of the data and copy it (right-click and select Copy).
  3. On the Access Administration page, click Users.
  4. Click Add User.
  5. Select the Add Multiple Users checkbox.
  6. Paste the data into the box (right-click and select Paste).
  7. Click Validate Data.
  8. Review the data and click Back to edit or Submit to accept. See Manage user access to environments for instruction on selecting environments and assigning roles. (For security reasons, this link requires TBM credentials).

Export a list of users

Export a .csv file of your complete list of users.

  1. On the Access Administration page, click Users.
  2. Click Export.

Reset passwords

You can reset the password of a user within your authentication domain, but not users in an SSO-authentication domain.

  1. On the Access Administration page, click Users.
  2. In the Actions column for the user, click Edit.
  3. Click Reset Password.

TIPS:

  • Users can initiate a password reset request for themselves or another user by typing the user name on the login page and clicking Forgot password. The user is sent an email message with a link to reset their password. The password reset link expires after 24 hours, after which time users will require an administrator to reset their password.
  • To reset multiple passwords, select the checkboxes for those users, click Bulk Actions, then click Reset Passwords.
  • Passwords must include a minimum of the following:
    • Eight characters
    • One upper and one lower case character
    • One number
    • One symbol

Activate or deactivate users

Deactivated users are retained in the list of users but prevented from accessing environments. Only users with Active status can log in. If you only want to revoke user access to a specific environment, see Manage user access to environments. (For security reasons, this link requires TBM credentials).

Activate or deactivate a single user

  1. On the Access Administration page, click Users.
  2. In the Actions column for the user, click Edit.
  3. Under Manage User Status, click Activate or Deactivate. Deactivated users do not have access to environments until they are made active.
  4. Click Save.

Activate or deactivate multiple users at one time (bulk activate or deactivate users)

  1. On the Access Administration page, click Users.
  2. Select the users to activate or deactivate, click Bulk Actions, then click Activate or Deactivate. Deactivated users do not have access to environments until they are made active.

Revoke access and delete users

Deleting a user removes that user from the list of users and prevents them from logging in to any environment. Before deleting a user, you must first revoke that user's access to all environments.

Revoke access and delete a single user

  1. On the Access Administration page, click Environment Access.
  2. In the Actions column for the user, click Revoke Access.
  3. Ensure all of the roles are selected and click Next.
  4. Click Revoke Access.
  5. Click the Users tab.
  6. In the Actions column for the user, click Delete.

Revoke access and delete multiple users at one time (bulk delete users)

  1. On the Access Administration page, click Environment Access.
  2. Select the users to revoke access, click Bulk Actions, then click Revoke Roles from Selection.
  3. Ensure all the roles are selected and click Next.
  4. Click Revoke Access.
  5. Click the Users tab.
  6. Select the users to delete, click Bulk Actions, then click Delete.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.